jump to navigation

Three Cheers For Wu Ping 23 March 2007

Posted by David in China, Comment, World, Wu Ping.
trackback

I hate compulsory purchase powers and land grabs, like that being proposed at Stansted Airport, so I love this story about a Chinese lady refusing to budge.

Mrs Wu Ping and her husband are holding up a major development, because they don’t want to move. They are refusing to let the authorities demolish their modest but loved home. Good for them.

A deadline set by the court ordering her to authorise the demolition ran out on Thursday, and it was not clear what steps the authorities would take next. The Chinese media have dubbed her “the stubborn nail” for her refusal to give up.

But Ms Wu defended her decision, “I’m not stubborn or unruly, I’m just trying to protect my personal rights as a citizen. I will continue to the end,” she was quoted as saying in the state-run Legal Daily.

Land grabbing is a terrible thing, and a lot has gone on to build the 2008 Beijing Olympics. Here too it goes on, for the 2012 Olympics and other projects.

Comments»

1. miumiu - 24 March 2007

Almost all the news & discussion in chinese on Wu
ping’s side has been removed. Sigh. Pray for them

2. Anson Parker - 27 March 2007

ROCK ON WU!!!! We’re with ya Sista! And should it come to it… leave China all together, we could use more of that here in the USA!

3. Christine Cassidy - 27 March 2007

Be sure to see the article in today’s New York Times about her and her struggle.
http://www.nytimes.com/2007/03/27/world/asia/27china.html

4. teresa quarles - 27 March 2007

Bravo, what an inspiration! I can only hope this ends well for Wu Ping. I have never been able to buy a home of my own and if I am ever able to do so, I cannot fathom the thought of someone trying to take it from me.

5. The Bicycling Chameleon - 29 March 2007

Anson, we need people like that here in the UK as well! I’m sure we all wish Ms Wu Ping every success, either to save her house or get good compensation.


Leave a Reply

